Skhosana to Challenge SASCOC Disqualification

12 Mar 2020

Aleck Skhosana is to challenge his disqualification from the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee elections.

Skhosana‚ the head of Athletics SA‚ had been considered one of the main rivals to Acting SASCOC President Barry Hendricks in the 28 March poll.

But his removal from the ballot form when the list was released came as a surprise.

The nominations of Skhosana and Free State Rugby President Jerry Segwaba‚ as well as Netball SA head Cecilia Molokwane‚ were rejected because they had allegedly failed to submit all the required documentation.

According to the nominations committee‚ an independent group of three lawyers‚ Skhosana’s letter of good standing from his athletics federation was not submitted by the two bodies that nominated him‚ ASA and the KwaZulu-Natal sports confederation.

Segwaba’s submission allegedly lacked a copy of his identity document‚ letter of good standing‚ abridged CV and manifesto.

But Segwaba said SA Rugby had “submitted all the necessary documentation” about a week before nominations closed on 28 February.

Molokwane was disqualified because her submission didn’t contain a copy of her ID‚ but she said she wasn’t planning to lodge a challenge.

The candidates so far are:

President: Barry Hendricks (Acting SASCOC President)‚ Alan Fritz (swimming)‚ Kaya Majeke (body-building)‚ Winston Meyer (lifesaving).

First Vice-President: Kobus Marais (disabled sport)‚ Debbie Alexander (triathlon)‚ Lwandile Simelane (hockey)‚ Hendricks‚ Fritz‚ Meyer‚ Majeke.

Second Vice-President: Meyer‚ Marais‚ Alexander‚ Majeke‚ Simelane.

Board members: Riad Davids (tennis)‚ Jean Pierre Naude (Western Cape Sports Confederation)‚ Kim Pople (canoeing)‚ Moekie Grobbelaar (disabled sport)‚ Linda Zwane (soccer)‚ David Maralack (athletics)‚ Sabelo Mthiyane (basketball)‚ Wendy Gila (roller sport)‚ Qondisa Ngwenya (gymnastics)‚ Nomsa Mahlangu (university sport)‚ Mashilo Matsetela (softball)‚ Meyer‚ Majeke‚ Simelane.

Sport categories: