ICC Launches World Test Championship

01 Aug 2019

The International Cricket Council has officially launched the inaugural World Test Championship, which gets underway with the first Ashes Test this week, and will conclude in June 2021 at a to-be-confirmed UK venue.

The WTC will be contested by the top nine Test teams in the world: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies. It will comprise 71 Test matches across 27 series, with the top two teams to contest the final in two years’ time.

The ICC approved the launch of the WTC in October 2017, with the competition having been created to inject more context into bilateral cricket.

Points will be made available for every single game, with each team to play three home and three away series. Each series will count for 120 points, which will be distributed over the number of matches in a series.

A two-match series will provide 60 points for each Test, while a three-match series will give 40 points to each Test match. A tie will be 50% of the points available, with a draw to be a 3:1 points ratio.

Geoff Allardice, the ICC’s General Manager of Cricket Operations, said: “The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup this summer showed just how important it is for every game to count and for the world’s best teams to go head-to-head. The World Test Championship will bring relevance and context to bilateral Test cricket over the next two years, creating a pinnacle event for the five-day format, just as the World Cups for men and women do in the ODI and T20I formats.”

Sport categories: