Pro14 completes new international rights deals

03 Sep 2018

The Pro14 and its international media rights distributor, the RDA agency, have secured deals with multiple broadcasters covering 30 territories.

The cross-border rugby union league on Friday (August 31) announced new media-rights deals with: pay-television broadcaster ESPN in the US; Perform-owned OTT service DAZN in Canada, Germany, Switzerland and Austria (DAZN had already secured rights in Italy via a separate agreement); rugby-focused OTT service RugbyPass in 23 Southeast Asian territories, plus Australia; and pay-television broadcaster Sky New Zealand. All four agreements are for three seasons, from 2018-19 to 2020-21.

RDA is distributing Pro14 rights outside the competing nations (the UK, Ireland, Italy and sub-Saharan Africa), from 2018-19 to 2020-21.

The RugbyPass deal covers rights in: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, the Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.