ICC to set up 9-nation Test championship

13 Oct 2017

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has approved an array of new changes and formats to the global game, including a structured Test match world championship, an ODI league and the trial of four-day Test matches.

The ‘in-principle agreements’ were given by the ICC Board on the final day of the governing body's meeting in Auckland this week.

Some details are still yet to be confirmed, including the exact points system, but the first two-year Test championship will begin after the World Cup in 2019, in a bid to increase interest in the longer form of the game.

Nine teams will play six series of Test matches over a two-year period, with Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Ireland initially excluded.

There will be a minimum of two matches in each series - all of which will be scheduled to last five days - but can be expanded to five for series such as the Ashes. The top two teams by April 2021 will face each other in a final, to be held in England two months later.